About the symphony

Corpus Christi Symphony Orchestra

To inspire engage, and educate diverse audiences through live, high quality musical performances throughout the Coastal Bend region.

Our mission

The Corpus Christi Symphony Society was chartered in 1945 by Rabbi Sidney Wolf. During tenure at Temple Beth El, Rabbi Wolf became known for his interfaith work and, in the era of Jim Crow segregation, for his support of integration of public facilities.

On December 10, 1945, C. Burdette Wolfe, the Corpus Christi Junior College (Del Mar) Music Department Chairman, raised the baton as the first conductor for the first performance of the symphony orchestra.

800 patrons braved the 36 degree South Texas weather to experience the inaugural concert in the auditorium of Corpus Christi High School (Miller). The debut season consisted of four concerts total.

our debut in 1945

symphony society chartered


Del Mar College's new auditorium, dedicated to the college's 6th president Dr. Jean Richardson, became the home of the symphony with an inaugural concert in 1951.

In 1955, the new music director, Jacques Singer, formed a support group called the Symphony Guild. For the next 49 years, a woman would serve as the President of the Guild until Judge Henry Santana was elected in 2004. At the encouragement of Jacques Singer, Litta Kline became the orchestra's General Manager in 1956 for the next 36 years.

In 1969, the Symphony Orchestra opened it's Silver Anniversary Season under the baton of Maurice Peress.

a new organization

the symphony guild

In 1978, Cornelius Eberhardt and the Corpus Christi Symphony Orchestra are the first to perform in the newly dedicated Bayfront Plaza Auditorium (Selena) on May 20th, 1978. The City Council cut the ribbon on the new Bayfront Convention Center and the symphony performed two hours later in the 2,400 seat hall.

Caller Times staff writer reported much debate at City Hall regarding the $300 rental fee the orchestra would pay for the state of the art Bayfront Auditorium facility.

our new home

The selena auditorium


Maestro John Giordano conducted the inaugural season of the symphony orchestra in their new home at the Performing Arts Center on the Bayfront campus of Texas A&M University Corpus Christi. The season opener featured pianist Andre Watts performing Brahms Piano Concerto No. 2, Opus 83.

The season featured six regular subscription concerts with a special Diamond Jubilee concert featuring the virtuosic violin talents of Itzhak Perlman. By the opening of the 60th concert season, the CCSO performed for many music lovers and continues to serve the Corpus Christi Coastal Bend area to this day.

the symphony at 60

Diamond Anniversary

Maestro Hector Guzman conducts the symphony orchestra in their current home at the Performing Arts Center on the Bayfront campus of Texas A&M University Corpus Christi. Each exciting symphony season includes six classical/light classical subscription concerts; two or more free Education Concerts for up to 20,000 area children; and the CCSO on the Go! Program, which brings musical ensembles into area classrooms for an up-close encounter with professional musicians and their instruments.

Also, The Corpus Christi Area Youth Orchestra sponsors two tuition-free full orchestras: an intermediate string ensemble and one elementary string class for instrumental students from 8-19 years of age. Each CCAYO ensemble performs at least twice a year. An annual audience favorite is the special family concert, which brings popular music, bands, movie music and other musical treats to Coastal Bend who might not otherwise be able to experience live music.

Now in its 77th concert season, the CCSO continues to entertain, educate, and inspire music lovers in the Corpus Christi Coastal Bend area.



Karen Urban, Member-at-Large

John Bell, Member-at-Large

Carroll Matthews, Secretary

Nora Fazio, Treasurer

Rosaura Bailey, Vice President - Development

Jaime Nodarse Barrera, Vice President - Marketing

Jody Hughes, Vice President - Governance

Dr. Bruce Wilson, Vice President - Education & Community

Dr. Mary Jane Hamilton, President Elect

Andy Crocker, President

executive committee


Barbara Ostarch, Past-President

Ed Avila, Musician Representative

Diana Sipes, Musician Representative

Brad Snyder

Roger TenNapel

Phyllis Roseman

Linda Pate

Barbara Ostarch

Brad Kisner

Don Kingsbury

Eric Evans

Kylie Cooper

Louise Chapman

Mary Campbell

Rosaura Bailey

Janie Bell

Board of Directors


Rosendo Cruz

Patty Nuss, Emeritus

Dr. Robert Furgason, Emeritus

Jan Lawrence, Emeritus

Ella Prichard, Emeritus

Gene Seaman, Emeritus

Chrissy Romeros

Dr. Cynthia Bridges

Elizabeth Chu Richter

Thank You To Our Season Sponsor

Stay up-to-date on our latest concerts, events, and promotions by signing up for our newsletter.

Sign up for our newsletter




Follow On Social media